8 Morning Habits to Start Your Day Right

It seems that some humans are just born as morning people while others just wish … well that mornings could be moved to a more convenient time of the day! If you are in the second category (we totally get it), don’t lose hope! Here are 8 tips to help you start the day off right and transform your A.M. into a happy (or at least tolerable) ritual!

Take Your Time Before Getting Up

No. Unfortunately, we are not talking about hitting snooze 14 times in a row to enjoy a few more minutes of sleep. In fact, did you know that this habit is likely to make you even more grumpy in the morning? You read that right! Basically, by doing this, you are sending out conflicting signals to your body and your brain. Get up! No, go to sleep! Come on, get up! Who could possibly rise AND shine right after that kind of internal conflict? As we always say: you snooze, you lose. So when your alarm goes off, open your eyes, enjoy the last seconds of that awesome dream starring Bradley Cooper, stretch gently, take a few deep breaths and enjoy the moment before slowly rolling out of bed. Of course, you have to do all of this without falling back asleep!

Make Your Bed

Yes, your mom was right all along, making your bed will improve your mornings. How? Research shows that people who make their bed in the morning are more productive during the day. Why? Because completing this task gives them a sense of accomplishment. Isn’t that a great feeling right after you wake up? In other words, it’s a way to put the night behind and welcome the new day.

Eat a Healthy Breakfast

You’ve been hearing that one since childhood: breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Eating a balanced breakfast gives you enough energy to complete your to-do list and also helps you eliminate that dreaded 10:30 I-want-carbs-attack, which will most likely send you running for the vending machine and its high-calorie-super-processed snacks.

Sit Down to Enjoy Your Meal

If you already go the extra mile to prepare a healthy breakfast, make sure you sit down to enjoy it! If you are guilty of gobbling down your piece of whole grain toast while trying to put on a shoe and asking-yelling at your teenager to hurry, read the next sentence. Eating meals while standing increases the chances of overeating and eating too fast. So, even if it means getting up a few minutes earlier, make sure you schedule enough time to enjoy breakfast without having to multitask at the same time. Set the table, cut some fresh fruits, choose your favourite breakfast food and make it a relaxing moment.

Resist the Urge to Pick Up Your Phone

Before you start reading the status of your sister-in-law’s cousin’s cousin on social networks about her frustrating experience with the lack of customer service at her favourite doughnut shop, or the news, or your work emails, give your time a few minutes to think about … nothing. In fact, make that more than a few minutes. If you can, don’t look at your phone before leaving the house. Mornings should be Zen and meditative moments of happiness. After all, you will have the whole day to worry about the fate of the planet and your colleague’s passive-aggressive email.

Think Positive Thoughts

Speaking of chasing away negativity, include positive thoughts in your morning routine. Here are a few ideas. Practice mindfulness and gratitude by thinking of three reasons why you are thankful for the day ahead. This requires you to take a minute to focus on everything that is beautiful and comforting in your life. Reading an inspirational quote could also improve your mood, while visualizing what could go right or writing down your daily goals in a journal might change your mind about how much you dislike mornings!

Exercise Before Leaving for Work

You don’t have to run a half-marathon every morning. A short fifteen minute walk before your daily commute is a fine way to start your day. If you are running out of time, try parking your vehicle a few blocks away from work and speed walk your way to the office. Taking public transportation? Head to the next bus stop instead of the one in front of your house.

Last but not Least…

As someone once said, “Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.” To start the day off right, nothing beats getting ready the night before. Plan your outfit, set the breakfast table, pack your lunch and put your bag on the doorstep. Make sure your keys are where they should be to avoid playing a recurring role in another episode of “The Endless Frantic Search for the Missing Keys.” (If you are NOT a morning person, you know what we are talking about!). Good morning, time to rise AND shine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup
X

8 habitudes pour bien commencer la journée

Il semble que certaines personnes soient douées pour le bonheur matinal alors que pour d’autres c’est une bataille perdue d’avance. Si vous êtes dans la deuxième catégorie, ne perdez pas espoir de voir un jour vos matins devenir de doux rituels de détente et de bonheur! Voici 8 trucs pour vous aider à commencer la journée du bon pied.

Flânez un peu quand le réveil sonne

Non, il ne s’agit pas de peser sur « snooze » 14 fois de suite pour profiter de quelques minutes de sommeil de plus. En fait, saviez-vous que cette habitude risque de vous rendre plutôt maussade puisque vous envoyez en rafale des signaux contradictoires à votre corps et votre cerveau? Debout! Non dors! Allez, lève-toi! Vous voyez l’effort mental que cela demande dès que vous ouvrez l’œil? Commencer la journée contrariée, ça ne risque pas de vous faire aimer ce moment inévitable du quotidien. Alors, quand votre alarme se fait entendre, ouvrez les yeux, savourez les dernières secondes de votre rêve avec Bradley Cooper, dites-lui au revoir, étirez-vous doucement, prenez quelques grandes respirations et profitez du moment… avant de vous lever doucement. Tout ça sans vous rendormir bien sûr!

Faites votre lit en vous levant

Eh oui, votre mère avait raison! Mais en quoi ceci aidera-t-il à améliorer votre matinée? En fait, la recherche prouve que les gens qui font leur lit le matin seraient plus productifs puisque cette tâche vous donne le sentiment du devoir accompli dès le réveil. Autrement dit, faire son lit est un geste qui vous dit que la nuit est maintenant derrière vous et que vous vous sentez prête à attaquer la journée!

Mangez un déjeuner équilibré

On vous le répète depuis la petite enfance, c’est le repas le plus important de la journée. Manger un déjeuner équilibré vous permettra d’avoir l’énergie nécessaire pour accomplir vos tâches, tout en vous évitant les sautes d’humeur et la fringale de 10 h 30 qui vous mènent directement à la machine distributrice et ses incontournables collations hypercaloriques.  

Prenez le temps de savourer

Si vous êtes du genre à manger santé, mais que vous le faites en essayant d’enfiler une chaussure de l’autre main tout en criant au plus jeune de se dépêcher, sachez que de prendre ses repas debout augmente les chances de trop manger et de le faire trop vite. Préparez une assiette attrayante et colorée que vous aurez hâte de déguster tranquillement, quitte à vous lever un peu plus tôt! C’est le moment de sortir votre belle vaisselle et de la garnir de fruits frais et de vos aliments favoris. Et par pitié… assoyez-vous à table.

Résistez à l’envie d’utiliser vos écrans

Vous êtes du genre à sauter sur votre tablette ou votre téléphone intelligent avant même d’avoir les deux yeux bien ouverts? Avant de vous lancer dans la lecture du statut de la cousine du voisin de votre belle-sœur sur les réseaux sociaux sur son expérience désolante avec le service à la clientèle de sa boutique préférée, prenez le temps de penser tranquillement… à rien. Idem pour les nouvelles du jour ou, pire encore, vos courriels de travail. Le matin, c’est votre moment à vous, faites en votre petit rituel de bonheur zen et méditatif. Vous aurez toute la journée pour vous inquiéter du sort de la planète et pour lire le courriel en majuscules de votre collègue outrée.

Boostez votre moral par des pensées positives

Dans le même ordre d’idées, partez du bon pied en ayant des pensées qui vous font du bien. Comment? Par exemple, vous pourriez choisir trois raisons pour remercier la vie pour la belle journée qui s’en vient. Pratiquer la gratitude vous oblige à prendre un moment pour vous concentrer sur le beau et le positif. Lire chaque jour une citation aide aussi à amorcer son quotidien en étant inspirée. Visualiser tout ce qui pourrait arriver de bien peut aussi chasser la mauvaise humeur matinale, tout comme tenir un journal de vos objectifs du jour (réalistes, bien sûr!) tous les matins.

Bougez avant d’aller au boulot

Il ne s’agit pas de courir un demi-marathon tous les matins, mais simplement de vous activer au moins 15 minutes. Une courte marche dans votre quartier avant de sauter dans la voiture peut faire l’affaire, tout comme une séance express de yoga grâce à une application sur votre téléphone. Si le temps vous manque, stationnez-vous plus loin du bureau et marchez ou encore, prenez le bus au prochain arrêt plutôt qu’en face de la maison!

En terminant, n’oubliez pas la fameuse expression « Un matin heureux commence la veille ». Bon, c’est vrai, nous venons tout juste de l’inventer, mais elle est néanmoins assez véridique. Pour commencer la journée du bon pied, et surtout, pas trop stressée, préparez-vous la veille. Sortez vos vêtements, mettez la table du déjeuner, emballez votre lunch et mettez votre sac sur le pas de la porte. Assurez-vous que vos clés sont au bon endroit, parce qu’on le sait toutes, l’éternelle recherche effrénée des clés disparues est une source de stress régulière pour les non-matinales. Ce sera ça de fait et vous pourrez profiter de votre café sans avoir l’air du lapin pressé dans le classique Alice aux Pays des Merveilles. Bonne journée!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup
X