5 Destinations to Relax and Recharge

Are you finding life to be a bit overwhelming? Between work, meals, fitness and all your other responsibilities, finding time to recharge your batteries might sometimes feel like an unattainable goal. The 21st century being what it is, our smartphones and social networks keep us connected (for better or for worse) 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, making it seem impossible to get away and take a break. That’s why we came up with a list of 5 destinations to relax, unwind, disconnect and recharge. And because we think a stress-free holiday doesn’t start with standing in line at the airport, our suggestions are all within a roadtrip away. Ready to book the perfect vacation?

A Peaceful Time in Nature at Auberge de Montagne des Chic-Chocs

If you want to combine your love of the great outdoors, mountain sports and relaxation in an all-inclusive setting, head to the heart of the Réserve faunique de Matane. There, you’ll get a breathtaking view of the forest and a chance to enjoy daily guided (or self-guided) outdoor activities. Hiking, mountain biking, paddle board, nature walks, all these are included in your stay and equipment is provided. There is no TV, no telephone, no alarm clock and, above all, no traffic noise. Yup, not one car in sight. Since it’s perched at an altitude of 615 metres, the only way to get there is by taking the shuttle bus, which is a service that is included in your package. Three delicious meals are served each day, with local and seasonal ingredients. Don’t expect a crowd at dinner time. A maximum of 36 guests can stay at the Chic-Chocs. After a long hike, unwind in the spa with a good glass of wine. Unless you prefer to rest by the fireplace and admire the landscape? That’s about the only decision you’ll have to make, since the friendly staff pretty much takes care of everything else for you! It’s like a super-deluxe adult summer camp.

A Yoga Getaway at the Balcon Chez Juliette

Yoga has an extraordinary way of helping us forget about our worries to let us focus on the present moment. If a session in the middle of your chaotic week is no longer enough (we understand that) why not go on yoga vacation? Although there are many well-known yoga retreats in Quebec, we have a huge crush on a well-kept secret in Saint-Mathieu du Parc in the Mauricie, Au Balcon chez Juliette. This quaint cottage on the shores of Lac Goulet offers a loft or cabin for rent. The white walls and bold accessories of the rooms make it a relaxing and happy location to be in. You can take private or semi-private yoga courses during your stay or join in one of their group classes. Check out the Facebook page and be on the lookout for their yoga events. A healthy breakfast is provided, with tons of fresh fruits to give your body a vitamin C boost and well-deserved treat. If you’re tired of resting, you can always go for a hike on one of the many trails around the cabin or go for a swim in the lake. A place to discover!

A Silent Retreat at Abbaye of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac

The Abbaye of Saint-Benoît-du-Lac is, to this day, the home of a group of Benedictine monks who live in prayer, community life, daily work… and silence. Silence! Silence! Imagine, no Ding! Ding! from an email coming in on your phone, no angry drivers honking the horn, no neighbour mowing his lawn at 7 a.m. on Saturday. Not a sound. Absolute silence. This is what a stay at the abbaye has in store for you, with its silent individual retreats. The place is modest but welcoming and meals are included. You will also discover the delicious cheese, cider and jams made by the monks, delicacies whose reputation is well established! The surrounding landscape is stunning, with wide-open spaces and gardens. Be warned, there is no wifi and phones are not allowed. The perfect solution to really unwind.

Le Monastère des Augustines: Good for the Soul, Mind and Body

If you are looking for a destination that has it all, the Monastère is your best bet. Silent retreats, meditation, yoga, knitting, workshops about global health and much more are available during your stay. They truly have everything to take care of your body and mind. This haven of peace in the heart of Old Quebec has been completely restored. You’ll fall in love with its modern architecture and soothing surroundings. Different packages are offered and nights in monastic rooms are available for a total immersion into the lifestyle of the Augustines.

Spa and Massage in the Heart of the Forest at Auberge Sacacomie

Finally, for some of us, a truly relaxing destination isn’t one if it doesn’t include access to a spa and a good massage. There is no shortage of spas in Quebec, but if you are looking for a multi-day escape, might as well pick a place with A+ rooms. While you are at it, how about a little nature therapy at the same time? Sacacomie has all this and more! Located in the heart of the forest in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, this huge log cabin (more like a log castle if you ask us) has different packages which include services such as massage, facial care and access to the spa. Speaking of which, enjoy the breathtaking view of the wilderness from their Finnish sauna, indoor pool, whirlpool or waterfall. After such a hard day (right?) enjoy a gourmet dinner. Doesn’t get better than that, does it? So, is your suitcase packed yet?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

X

5 destinations pour se ressourcer au Québec

Vous trouvez que le quotidien vous bouscule un peu… trop? Entre le boulot, les repas, la mise en forme et tout le tralala, il est vrai que la vie ne laisse que peu de moments pour charger ses piles. Ajoutons à cela les réseaux sociaux et les téléphones intelligents qui nous gardent connectés pour le meilleur et pour le pire, 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, et ça devient presque un exploit de décrocher et de faire le vide. C’est pourtant ce que nous vous proposons avec ces destinations 100 % détente, 100 % Québécoises (qui veut le stress d’un aéroport, vraiment), 100 % inusitées et super reposantes! À go, à vos réservations.

La nature à son meilleur à l’Auberge de montagne des Chic-Chocs

Vous souhaitez vivre votre amour du grand air et des sports de montagne tout en faisant la dolce vita dans un tout inclus? C’est au cœur de la réserve faunique de Matane, avec une vue à couper le souffle et la nature brute dans toute sa splendeur que ça se passe. Ici, pas de télé, pas de téléphone, même pas de réveil-matin et surtout, pas de circulation, puisque l’auberge, perchée à 615 mètres d’altitude, n’est accessible que par la navette qui vous conduira vers votre séjour. Au programme, l’auberge suggère tous les jours des activités en plein air guidées (ou en autonomie), équipement inclus. Randonnée, vélo de montagne, surf à pagaie, observation de la faune et de la flore, tout pour une thérapie-nature parfaite. Le chef vous concocte trois repas par jour cuisinés avec des produits de saison qui vous seront servis aux tables communes de la grande salle, où un maximum de 36 invités est attendu. Envie de vous reposer? Le spa vous attend, à moins que vous ne préfériez flâner sur le bord du foyer et admirer le paysage à perte de vue? C’est à peu près la seule décision que vous aurez à prendre, puisque tout est pris en charge ici de A à Z. Un genre de camp de vacances d’adultes version super deluxe, quoi!

Un séjour de yoga intime au Balcon chez Juliette

Le yoga, ce n’est plus un secret, est extraordinaire pour se recentrer. Si une séance en plein milieu de votre semaine chaotique ne suffit plus (on comprend ça!), pourquoi ne pas planifier des vacances yoga. Bien qu’il existe plusieurs endroits bien connus au Québec, nous avons un coup de cœur pour un petit secret bien gardé à Saint-Mathieu du Parc en Mauricie, Au Balcon chez Juliette. Ce magnifique gîte au bord du Lac Goulet offre en location un loft ou un chalet en nature dans un décor épuré et franchement apaisant. Des séjours avec séances de yoga sont offerts, il suffit de surveiller la page Facebook de l’endroit. Les petits-déjeuners santé mettent les fruits à l’honneur et vous feront faire le plein de vitamine C. Laisser vous tenter par une baignade ou une randonnée aux alentours. À découvrir.

Silence, on se ressource à l’Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac

L’Abbaye de Saint-Benoît-du-Lac héberge encore à ce jour des moines bénédictins qui vivent dans la prière, la vie en communauté, le travail quotidien…. et le silence. Le silence! Imaginez, pas de ding! de courriel qui entre, de conducteur en furie qui klaxonne, pas de voisin qui tond sa pelouse à 7 h le samedi ou de collègue qui raconte trop fort les exploits de sa petite dernière. Rien. Juste le silence. C’est ce qu’un séjour à l’Abbaye vous réserve avec ses retraites individuelles silencieuses. L’endroit est simple mais accueillant et les repas y sont inclus. Vous pourrez aussi y découvrir les délicieux fromages, cidres et compotes fabriqués par les moines, gourmandises dont la réputation n’est d’ailleurs plus à faire ! Le paysage environnant est saisissant, avec ses grands espaces verts et ses jardins magnifiques. Un gros plus : il n’y a pas de wifi et les téléphones n’y sont pas autorisés. Pour décrocher totalement!

Faire le vide au Monastère des Augustines

Pour un amalgame de tous les endroits précédents, le Monastère des Augustines est votre destination. Retraite, méditation, yoga, tricot, ateliers en santé globale, tout y est pour prendre soin de votre corps et de votre esprit. Après tout, un esprit sain dans un corps sain, c’est la base de tout! Ancien cloître en plein cœur du Vieux-Québec, le bâtiment a été complètement restauré. En y mettant les pieds, vous vous sentirez immédiatement apaisée par l’architecture moderne et le décor épuré. Différents forfaits sont offerts, et des nuitées en chambre monastique comme des celles des sœurs augustines sont possible, parce que tant qu’à vivre l’expérience, aussi bien la vivre à fond!  

Spa et massage au cœur de la forêt à Sacacomie

En terminant, pour certaines, une destination voyage reposante rime nécessairement avec spa-sauna-massage et tout le tralala. Les spas ne manquent pas au Québec, mais pour un séjour de plusieurs jours, vaut mieux choisir un endroit avec hébergement. Et comme la nature a des effets thérapeutiques bien prouvés, un spa en pleine forêt, dans un endroit paisible et isolé, c’est encore mieux! Au cœur de la forêt à Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, l’hôtel Sacacomie, avec son look de chalet en bois rond (bon, on vous l’accorde, plutôt de château de bois rond), offre soins, paysages féériques, repas gastronomique, quiétude, nature, hébergement haut de gamme et bien sûr toutes les installations pour une expérience spa inoubliable. Bain à remous, sauna finlandais, chute d’eau froide, piscine intérieure, le tout avec une vue imprenable sur le lac. Difficile de faire mieux. Alors, vos valises sont-elles prêtes?

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

X