How to Develop Your Spiritual Practice

Spirituality, it must be said, is a hot topic. Let’s face it, many preconceived ideas are associated with it. While some believe it necessarily goes hand in hand with religion, others think of it as an esoteric New Age practice. If you are convinced spirituality isn’t your cup of tea because it involves sitting with a bunch of people meditating in white linen tunics in a room that smells of incense, think again!

What is spirituality?

Coming up with a definition for spirituality is challenging. Why? Because how we see it and the way we practise it has evolved over time. Today, spirituality and how it is expressed can be very different from one person to another. One could even say that it is unique to each of us! The search for life’s true meaning, for purpose, gratitude, personal growth, believing that there is something greater than yourself, these are all manifestations of your spirituality. How can you develop your spiritual practice when it all seems so mysterious? Here are some simple ideas, some of which are probably already part of your daily life.

Spend Time Alone

The 21st century has glorified being busy, overbooked and connected twenty-four/seven. Somewhere along the way, it became the norm. Having a blank space in your agenda is now frowned upon, because free time is seen as unproductive. However, doing nothing at all is a perfect moment to reconnect with what really matters and develop your spiritual practice. As you keep your mind busy, busy, busy, you make it impossible to take the time to reflect on the meaning of your life, your values and your dreams. Of course, during those quiet moments, make sure your smartphone doesn’t make the guest list.

Surround Yourself With Positive People

Okay. This advice may seem to contradict the one before, but the explanation is quite simple. Surrounding yourself with people who share your values, with friends with whom you can have deeper conversations on a variety of topics (without fear of judgment), being part of a group, are all wonderful opportunities to develop your spirituality. How? Surrounding yourself with positive individuals or groups will inevitably bring inspiring people and conversations to your life, models that will positively influence you in your personal growth journey.

Embrace Daily Rituals

No, meditation, although very useful, is not mandatory. Daily rituals could be anything you decide them to be. The only rule: It has to bring you happiness, peacefulness and give you some time to reflect, to be mindful and grateful. Whether it’s a moment alone every morning contemplating the landscape over coffee, a meditation session, writing positive thoughts in a journal, reading inspiring quotes, relaxing in a warm bath or gardening in silence, find out what allows you to reflect and contemplate!

Enjoy What Nature Has to Give

It is a scientific fact. Nature has positive effects on your health. Yup! Spending time outdoors helps reduce stress, symptoms of depression and anxiety, and much more. How does it help with your spirituality? Spending time in nature encourages you to clear your mind and to become more aware of the beauty that surrounds you. And in your search for something that is greater than you is there anything more convincing than nature’s greatness? Anything more humbling than standing under a tree that seems to be touching the clouds? From majestic trees to vegetables growing in your garden, nature is both mysterious and fascinating, not to mention a source of joy. Whether you go on a hike, take up gardening or decide to simply pull a chair out and sit in the middle of your backyard, nature provides peacefulness and the perfect setting to reflect and reconnect. The weather doesn’t have to be sunny, take out your raincoat and head outside. Rain and its regular, comforting rhythm has the perfect soundtrack for a meditative moment.

Spirituality is a personal thing. These ideas are obviously just that … ideas among a multitude of possibilities. Volunteering, creativity through art, being active, practising yoga, listening to music, playing an instrument, it is up to you to discover what helps you in your journey towards a more fulfilling, spiritual and happy life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup
X

4 trucs pour développer sa spiritualité

La spiritualité, il faut l’avouer, est un sujet auquel sont rattachés bien des préjugés. Alors que certains l’associe automatiquement à la religion, d’autres s’en méfient, l’imaginant liées à des pratiques ésotériques un peu trop Nouvel Âge. Si vous êtes de ceux qui pensent que la spiritualité passe nécessairement par de longs moments de silence assis les jambes croisées dans une tunique blanche en lin en méditant en groupe sur fond d’effluves d’encens, détrompez-vous.

C’est quoi, la spiritualité?

Difficile à définir, la spiritualité? Normal! Sa définition et la manière dont nous la pratiquons ont évolué avec le temps. On s’entend aujourd’hui pour dire que la spiritualité et l’expression de celle-ci est très différente d’une personne à une autre. On pourrait même dire qu’elle est unique à chacun! Recherche d’un sens à la vie, gratitude, croissance personnelle, croyance en une force plus grande,voilà toutes des manifestations de la spiritualité. Comment faire, alors, pour la développer alors qu’elle semble si mystérieuse? Voici quelques idées simples dont certaines font probablement déjà partie de votre vie.

Passer du temps en solo

Quelque part dans la folie du 21e siècle, c’est devenu tendance d’être continuellement occupées, débordées, connectées. Avoir une case blanche dans son agenda est maintenant presque suspect. Pourtant, ne rien faire, faire le vide, flâner, sont des moments parfaits pour vous reconnecter sur ce qui compte vraiment et développer votre spiritualité. À force de toujours s’occuper l’esprit, la peur du vide devient accaparante et il devient impossible de prendre le temps de réfléchir sur le sens de votre vie, sur vos valeurs et vos aspirations. Vous l’aurez compris, votre téléphone intelligent n’est pas invité à vos moments solos!

S’entourer des gens heureux

Bon. Ce conseil peut sembler contredire celui d’avant, mais l’explication est bien simple. S’entourer de gens qui partagent vos valeurs, d’amis avec qui vous pouvez avoir des conversations animées sur une foule de sujets (sans peur du jugement), faire partie d’un groupe, voilà des occasions en or de développer sa spiritualité. Quel est le lien? Bien s’entourer vous mène inévitablement vers des gens et des conversations inspirants, des modèles qui influenceront positivement votre croissance personnelle, vos réflexions.

Avoir des rituels quotidiens

Non, la méditation, quoique fort utile, n’est pas obligatoire. Il suffit d’avoir des rituels tous les jours pour faire le point, pratiquer la gratitude et vous concentrer sur le moment présent. Que ce soit un moment seule tous les matins à contempler le paysage en prenant votre café, une séance de méditation, écrire dans un journal, lire des citations inspirantes, se prélasser dans un bon bain ou jardiner en silence, trouvez ce qui vous permet de décrocher, de réfléchir et de contempler!

Profiter de la nature

Le contact avec la nature, c’est prouvé scientifiquement, a une foule d’effets positifs sur la santé. Passer du temps dehors contribue à réduire le stress, certains symptômes de la dépression et de l’anxiété, et bien plus. Côté spiritualité, être à l’extérieur vous encourage à faire le vide et à profiter de la beauté qui vous entoure. Et dans votre recherche d’une force plus grande et inexplicable, y-a-t-il quelque chose de plus convaincant que celle de la nature? Des arbres majestueux aux légumes qui poussent au potager, la nature procure émerveillement, fascination et petits bonheurs. Randonnée, sortie en plein air, jardinage et même simplement être assis au grand air peut vous aider à trouver la paix intérieure! Pas besoin d’attendre le beau temps, habillez-vous en conséquence, la pluie aussi, a un petit quelque chose de méditatif!

L’expression de sa spiritualité peut prendre plusieurs formes. Ces quelques trucs ne sont évidemment que des idées parmi une multitude de possibilités. Faire du bénévolat, développer sa créativité par l’art, être actif, pratiquer le yoga, écouter de la musique, jouer d’un instrument, c’est à vous de déterminer ce qui vous aide à trouver un sens à la vie!

Un commentaire sur “4 trucs pour développer sa spiritualité

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Invite & Earn

X
Signup to start sharing your link
Signup
X